The Macri Law Firm is ready to defend you against any allegation of Domestic Violence in Broward, Miami-Dade and West Palm Beach. In Florida, you can be charged with domestic violence if you commit certain crimes against your family or a household member. If you have been arrested for domestic violence, even though you are presumed innocent, you cannot post a bond until you see a judge, and even then, you can be held in jail with a high monetary bond, be supervised pre-trial by a local law enforcement agency, have an injunction placed against you, be prevented from going back to your home and be banned from communicating with your family members.
It is important that you call the Macri Law Firm to speak with a Fort Lauderdale domestic violence lawyer right away to fight for your rights at (954) 391-7183.
The Macri Law Firm has handled hundreds of domestic violence cases. We have been successful in getting charges dismissed pre-trial through negotiations with the state and through “Stand Your Ground” motions to dismiss. We have also gotten not guilty verdicts using common defenses such as self-defense, defense of another person, or that another person perpetrated the crime.Who Qualifies as a Household Member?
- Former spouses
- Persons related by blood or marriage
- Persons who are presently residing together as if a family or who have resided together in the past as if a family
- and persons who are parents of a child in common regardless of whether they have been married.
With the exception of persons who have a child in common, the family or household members must be currently residing or have in the past resided together in the same single dwelling unit.What Crimes Qualify as Domestic Violence Cases if the Victim is a Household Member?
- Aggravated assault
- Aggravated battery
- Sexual assault
- Sexual battery
- Aggravated stalking
- False imprisonment
- or any criminal offense resulting in physical injury or death of one family or household member by another family or household member.
Depending on the charge, you can be sentenced to a minimum term of one year of probation, with a batterer’s intervention program as a special condition, up to life in a Florida State prison.
If you are adjudicated guilty of domestic violence, the court is required to order a minimum of 10 days in the county jail for a first offense, 15 days for a second offense, and 20 days for a third or subsequent offense, unless the court imposes a prison sentence.
If the state alleges that you intentionally caused bodily harm to another person, and the crime of domestic violence takes place in the presence of a child under 16 years of age, who is a family or household member, of the victim or the accused, the court is requires you to serve a minimum of 15 days in the county jail for a first offense, 20 days for a second offense, and 30 days for a third or subsequent offense as part of the sentence imposed, unless the court imposes a prison sentence.
Not only is your liberty at stake, but on domestic violence cases, you cannot seal or expunge the case from your record, even if adjudication is withheld. If you are charged with domestic violence battery, and you are arrested for a subsequent misdemeanor battery, that misdemeanor can be enhanced to a felony; based on your prior record. Additionally, you would be prohibited from ever owning or possessing a firearm if you are convicted of any domestic violence charge, and you must surrender any permit to carry a concealed weapon.
Call our office to speak with a Fort Lauderdale domestic violence attorney today.