Our office is experienced and ready to defend you against any claim that you have committed any fraudulent crime in Broward, Miami and West Palm Beach. Please call our office to speak with a board-certified Fort Lauderdale fraud lawyer today at (954) 391-7183 to have your case reviewed.
There are over fifty different types of fraud charges that someone can face in Florida, but the most common ones are:
- Making false statement to obtain property or credit
- Insurance Fraud
- False reporting of a crime
- Mortgage fraud and
- Criminal use of personal identification information.
In fraud cases, the penalties can range from court costs up to 30 years in prison, so it is important to have board-certified attorney on your side to defend you.Making False Statement to Obtain Property or Credit
This crime is charged when someone makes a false statement, in writing, relating to his or her financial condition, assets or liabilities, with a fraudulent intent of obtaining credit, goods, money or other property, and then obtains credit, goods, money or other property with that false statement.
This crime is a misdemeanor and it is punishable by up to a year in the county jail.False Reports of Commission of Crimes
Someone can be charged with this crime when they convey to any law enforcement officer false information or reports concerning the alleged commission of any crime under Florida law.
This crime is a first-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in the county jail.False and Fraudulent Insurance Claims
This crime is generally charged when a person commits insurance fraud with the intent to injure, defraud, or deceive any insurer general presents or causes to be presented fraudulent statements or writings, or knowingly conceals material information on an application.
The felony degree for this charge depends on the value at issue.
- It’s a third-degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine, if the value of any property is less than $20,000.
- It’s a second-degree felony, punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a $5,000 fine, if the value of any property is $20,000 or more, but less than $100,000.
- It’s a first-degree felony, punishable by up to 30 years in prison and a $5,000 fine if the value of any property is $100,000 or more.
However, when the fraud includes a plan to participate in an intentional motor vehicle crash or scheme that did not occur, in order to make a civil claim, then that is a second-degree felony, punishable by a minimum term of 2 years in prison, a minimum fine of $15,000 up to 15 years in prison and up to a $50,000 fine.Mortgage Fraud
A person can be generally charged with mortgage fraud with the intent to defraud, if that person knowingly makes any material misstatement, misrepresentation, or omission during the mortgage lending process with the intention that the misstatement, misrepresentation, or omission will be relied on by a mortgage lender, borrower, or any other person or entity involved in the mortgage lending process or they file with the clerk of the circuit court for any county of this state a document involved in the mortgage lending process which contains a material misstatement, misrepresentation, or omission. Two other ways that a person can be charged with fraud is if they receive any proceeds or any funds in connection with the lending process or if they file with the clerk of the circuit court for any county of the State of Florida a document involved in the mortgage lending process which contains a material misstatement, misrepresentation, or omission.
This crime is a third-degree felony if the loan value stated on documents is up to $100,000 and a second-degree felony if the value on the loan documents exceeds $100,000.
Call today to speak with a Fort Lauderdale fraud attorney for a free consultation.