If you need a board-certified attorney that has specialized experience with defending people accused of sex crimes, please call our office today for a consultation at (954) 391-7183. Our office handles cases in Broward, Miami-Dade and West Palm Beach and throughout Florida.
The penalties for sex crimes in Florida can be very severe. With some charges, not only can someone face a lengthy prison sentence, but they will also have to register as a sex offender. When a person is labeled as a sex offender, Florida requires lifetime registration and different counties impose limits on where sex offenders can live. Our office has handled hundreds of sex crimes and will work towards preventing a sexual offender designation either through negotiations or even through trial.
Florida has different charges for sex crimes with the penalties depend on the crime charged. Contact a Fort Lauderdale sex crime lawyer for a free consultation today.Sexual Battery
Sexual battery means oral, anal, or vaginal penetration by, or union with, the sexual organ of another or the anal or vaginal penetration of another by any other object.
A person can be charged with capital sexual battery, meaning they can be incarcerated for the rest of their lives, if they are 18 years old and commits sexual battery on a person less than 12-years-old or if they use a deadly weapon or physical force in commission of a sexual battery on a person 12 years or older.
When the victim is a minor, consent is never a defense to this crime nor is ignorance or belief that the victim was older than 18 years old.Lewd or Lascivious Battery
A person can be charged with lewd or lascivious battery by engaging in sexual with a person 12 years old or older, but less than 16 years old or by encouraging, forcing, or enticing any person less than 16 years of age to engage in sadomasochistic abuse, sexual bestiality, prostitution, or any other act involving sexual activity.
Lewd or lascivious battery is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison.Lewd or Lascivious Molestation
A person can be charged with lewd or lascivious molestation if they touch in a lewd or lascivious manner the breasts, genitals, genital area, or buttocks, or the clothing covering them, of a person less than 16 years of age, or forces or entices a person under 16 years of age to so touch the perpetrator.Penalties
If the alleged perpetrator is 18 years or older, and the victim is younger than 12 years old, this is a first-degree felony that is punishable by life.
If the alleged perpetrator less than 18 years old, and the victim is 12 years old or younger or is older than 18 but the victim is 12 to 16 years old, the crime is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison.
If the alleged perpetrator is less than 18 years old and the victim is between 12 years old but less than 16 years of age, this crime is a third-degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison.Lewd or Lascivious Exhibition
A person can be charged with Lewd or Lascivious Exhibition if that person, in the presence of a victim who is less than 16 years of age, does any of the following:
- intentionally masturbates
- Intentionally exposes the genitals in a lewd or lascivious manner or
- Intentionally commits any other sexual act that does not involve actual physical or sexual contact with the victim, including, but not limited to, sadomasochistic abuse, sexual bestiality, or the simulation of any act involving sexual activity
If the person is 18 years or older, this crime is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison.
If the person is less than 18 year old, this crime is a third degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison.
For more information, contact our office to speak with a Fort Lauderdale sex crime attorney today.